Congratulations to recipients of Order of Australia Medals (OAM) for their contribution and services to Catholic education, the Church and other community services:

Recently retired director of Catholic Education Northern Territory, Gregory O’Mullane for service to Catholic education and to school rugby union. Greg was director from 2018-2022; deputy director, finance, facilities and resources (2006 -2017). He was a member of the National Catholic Education Commission (2018-2022); former chair, Northern Territory Block Grants Authority; a member of Northern Territory Board of Studies (1989-2003); and served in school leadership positions including as principal, O’Loughlin Catholic College (1994-1999). He was also a national committee member of the Australian Schools Rugby Union among other contributions to rugby union.

Elizabeth and Victor O’Callaghan for their services to restorative practices and education. Liz and Vic have been co-executive directors of Restorative Practices Australia since 2003. They have both made a significant contribution to Catholic education and the Catholic Church in teaching roles and social justice. Liz was a lecturer at Catholic Teachers College, Sydney from 1969-1981, as well as serving in various school leadership roles in Catholic Schools Parramatta Diocese and consulting for a range of Catholic dioceses and bodies.

Dr Margaret O’Donnell for service to education and to the community including as a board member of Melbourne Archdiocese Catholic Schools since 2021 and chair of the Education Strategy and Policy Committee. Margaret has been a principal consultant; member of the Research Committee; and served in various Catholic Primary School leadership roles including as acting principal of St John Parish Primary School, Frankston; principal of St Gregory the Great Primary School (2000-2018); principal of St Pius X Primary School, West Heidelberg (1996-2000) and made a range of contributions to the Catholic Church.

Vincent Feeney for service to secondary education has held various Catholic school leadership positions including as principal of St Francis Xavier College, since 2015; principal of St Joseph’s College (1999-2014) and principal of Marian College (1995-1998). He has served on a number of board positions including as chair of the Diocese of Sale’s Catholic Secondary Principals Association; as a member of the salary and conditions committee of the Catholic Education Commission of Victoria; president of the Catholic Secondary Principals Australia and president of the Principals’ Association of Victorian Catholic Secondary Schools.

Marea Donovan for service to the Catholic Church of Australia including as president of Catalyst for Renewal and coordinator of Spirituality in the Pub. Marea is the former deputy chair of the NSW Catholic Education Commission 1990-1996, president of the governing body of Catholic Theological Union in the 1990s, parent member of the Diocese of Lismore’s Education Board for 18 years, and a former tutor in English and History, Sancta Sophia College, Sydney University.

Current teacher at Lumen Christi Catholic College, Pambula Beach, Michele Bootes was recognised for service to surf lifesaving.

Congratulations to all those recognised for their services to education and the community.

Caption: L – R: Greg O’Mullane, Liz O’Callaghan, Vic O’Callaghan, Dr Margaret O’Donnell, Vincent Feeney, Marea Donovan and Michele Bootes. Photos sourced from LinkedIn, MACS and Lumen Christi Catholic College.

Australia Day Honours List via